[CSM9] A Reflection

The CSM9 voting is closed, and a sigh of relief. Pixel spaceships are fun, the meta-game can be a blast, and even trolling with friends can entertain for hours; but stepping out of your character and deciding to campaign to represent a gaming community as a person is a whole different thing. This was my first time campaigning to join the Council, and I’d be lying if I said that initially I had no reservations about running. End of the day, I decided that it was something I wanted to do and did it. At times, I was quite disappointed by some of the community’s perspective of the CSM, however that was dwarfed by my impression of the various individuals and communities that stepped up to support the process, the candidates, and make this campaign what made this experience unique.

I’ll start by mentioning some of the people and organizations who helped make this great:

Lanctharus Onzo and his team at Cap Stable Podcast for the interviews, the publicity and effort, not to mention that great CSM9 Voting Ad.

Tyrant Scorn at Legacy of a Capsuleer Podcast and Eve News 24 for his interviews and effort supporting and engaging in the CSM9 electoral process.

Bronya Boga at Down the Pipe for hosting the CSM9 Wormhole Debate.

Alekseyev Karrde at Declarations of War Podcast for hosting CSM9 Issue Panels.

Multiplex Gaming at Podside with their continued Podcasts featuring CSM9 candidates and topical discussions.

Eve Radio for hosting CSM8 and CSM9 related episodes and continued support if the CSM.

Ripard Teg, Trebor Daedhoow, Rhavas, Two step, Chitsa Jason and the many bloggers and CSM members, current and past, who continue to support the CSM and the process and value the impact that the Council within our community.

I’m certain I’m missing people, but these were groups that stood out or that I had the opportunity to interact with during my campaign. For everyone that actively participated in the process, highlighted the CSM through the forums, In-game, Twitter, Reddit, and so on; you guys were the ones who helped to make this experience great!

The next portion is about the candidates. During this campaign, I had the opportunity to interact with quite a few of the other candidates, listen to plenty, and learn about those participating with me. None more so than the Wormhole Five, with myself and the other four candidates listed below:

Corbexx – Corbexx is a member of another large wormhole alliance, No Holes Barred, and has been a member of the wormhole community for quite a long time as well. After seeing his announcement after the DTP Wormhole Debate, we initially had an off start, but soon began chatting and working together toward building communication and urging the wormhole community to support the wormhole candidates together. It was a great opportunity to get to know and work with Corbexx and I think he’d make a fine CSM representative.

James Arget – James was a guest at the DTP Wormhole Debate and had actually stated he wasn’t running for CSM9 initially. By the end of the debate, he had announced he would campaign for election onto CSM9. He is very knowledgeable about wormholes, mechanics, and the CSM, and although not as vocal as some CSM8 members, James certainly applied effort in his communication and work with CCP during CSM8.

Karen Galeo – Karen was the newest wormholer to run for CSM9 this year, and to be honest, a very good candidate. She may have been new to the community and Eve as a whole, but she was a quick study, respectful, and very well-spoken. She had the characteristics that I believe would make her an asset as a CSM representative, with the only area for real improvement being experience. If she doesn’t manage to get elected this year, I certainly hope she pushes forward and runs for CSMX.

Asayanami Dei – Asay is well known for his U-Boat and Wormhole Fundamentals Series’s, which have helped the visibility, training, and growth of the wormhole community. Although he tends to be less vocal in my experience with him, he is sincere about his advocacy of wormholes and player content. I think that he is definitely a good source of knowledge, and I’m interested to see how he would interact with other CSM members if elected.

All four of these candidates worked closely with each other and myself throughout this entire campaign. We shared a Skype channel, in-game channel, and communicated almost daily in the weeks leading up to and during the election. The amount of teamwork I participated and observed by literal “rivals” was remarkable and helps me say that this team demonstrates the nature of the wormhole community and the effort that each one of these people put in helping to ensure representation for wormholers on CSM9. It was a pleasure working with them, getting to know them, and I wish them only the best.

There were a number of others that I enjoyed different interactions with including:

Ali Aras – This girl seems to be all over the place, but still manages time to chat about whenever there was something to chat about. She really sets the standard for community involvement and communication that each CSM member should aspire toward achieving.

DNSBLACK – Although I am of the opinion that BLACK seems to get a tad too involved in his own persona and accomplishments, there is no absence of passion in this guy’s game. Also, it would seem that a forwarded email from a friend in Vengeance Inc may have spurred some interesting emails and chatlogs, but I’ll leave that to others to share. Even though I’d not support this guy for CSM, I’d be interested to be a fly on the wall during summits with BLACK “debating”.

Mangala Solaris and Steve Ronuken – I had the great pleasure of meeting both of these gentlemen at Eve Vegas 2013. I met and spoke with Steve in a chance encounter at the Starbucks kiosk in the Rio, where he was already campaigning away for CSM9. I’m not joking, this guy is determined. I stumbled, literally, into Mangala at the rooftop party where we were in line for dinner and spoke for nearly an hour I’d imagine. Most of our conversation wasn’t Eve related, and he is just a cool guy to chat with. Really hope to see and/or work with these guys on CSM9.

Psianh Auvyander – The mercenary candidate. As a former merc myself, I sought out to meet with and get to know Psianh. He is a great dude. CSM stuff aside, I enjoy the fact that I made a friend, one of many new friends, because of this campaign. Making new friends and the type of comradery I enjoyed during this campaign was a big win in itself. Hopefully, he enjoys success with this campaign, but either way, I’ll look forward to chatting long beyond this campaign.

I had small chats with some of a few other candidates, honestly all were rather pleasant and I didn’t have any real unpleasant conversations with any other candidates, and also I’d say the support and encouragement from many of the current CSM and veteran CSM members really helped as some of them took time to coach, guide, and provide advice to help me through this whole process. Although, the overall campaign, with all the interviews, debates, various individual/corp/alliance meetings was tedious and challenging at times, I’m actually very happy that I gave this a shot, buckled down and ran for CSM9.

According to the Fanfest Pre-Stream, CSM9 should be announced Friday, May 2nd, at Fanfest. At this time, I am taking the gap to relax, play the game a bit, continue to meet and talk with groups that have asked me to meet with their groups or provide feedback on ideas. There is so much more that I could continue to talk about, but I will leave you with a quote that is very important to me as a person and is always a driving force behind how I approach life, and in this case, CSM9. For those that want to make a difference, or have criticisms, issues, ideas, and more, please take a moment to consider the following words from a very wise man and hopefully if you haven’t, I’d challenge you to step into the arena and get involved,

“It is not the critic who counts; not the man who points out how the strong man stumbles, or where the doer of deeds could have done them better. The credit belongs to the man who is actually in the arena, whose face is marred by dust and sweat and blood; who strives valiantly; who errs, who comes short again and again, because there is no effort without error and shortcoming; but who does actually strive to do the deeds; who knows great enthusiasms, the great devotions; who spends himself in a worthy cause; who at the best knows in the end the triumph of high achievement, and who at the worst, if he fails, at least fails while daring greatly, so that his place shall never be with those cold and timid souls who neither know victory nor defeat.” – Theodore Roosevelt

Thank you, guys. /Proc

