How I almost won at Eve…

Having played EVE since 2006, I have had the opportunity to enjoy low sec piracy, nullsec wars, some highsec odds and ends, and was finishing my time in wormholes. I was a director during not one, but two nullsec alliance failcascades, both involving Alliance CEO’s making stupidly poor decisions. I could have done more, but that is over now. I helped to form a wormhole alliance, through which I was able to form and lead a corporation from inception to now being around an 80 member corp in a C6 wormhole alliance. These are not things to brag about really, simply experiences. Through all of those experiences I was able to learn that no matter how hard you try during the progression of your eve “career”, in the end you can only win after you quit. Nothing lasts forever in New Eden.

After I turned over my wormhole corporation to a good friend, I decided it was time to shelf this stupid game and finally beat the game, but EVE had a different idea. Soon after my retirement from wormholes, nullsec, and soon the game, I read a DEVBLOG about changes to an area of gameplay I had virtually no experience in, Faction Warfare. I went to my favorite forums, Reddit, and began searching for any discussions. I found a discussion by a soon to be friend, Typo Interobang about forming a reddit FW corp.

Since I had a character that could form a corporation with the initial skills to get the ball rolling on this venture, I contacted Typo and told him I was down.  A day later, Fweddit was born. I guess I would not be set to win this horrible game any time soon. The corp numbers began to grow, and within days, Fweddit was reaching into the hundreds. Since I am active duty Navy, I quickly realized that I would not be able to manage the infrastructure of this corporation with my schedule, as we were growing far to fast. Fortunately, we had great guys step up to help and carry the weight of our growth on their shoulders. Fellow blogger and new friend, Hylora Trevane stepped up to assume CEO, and I stepped down to a more reasonable position of helping with ship replacements, minor diplomacy, recruitment interviewing, and odds and ends.

This was just a bit to give you, my new readers, a little background and tell you about myself and some of my experiences. My intention, if you will, would be to continue to share my tales as a casual gamer in my continuing pixel spaceship shooting life. My next tale will be about the war that almost was…

I hope you enjoy…

